Board of trustees

Fortune magazine called our board one of the most influential nonprofit boards in the country.


Mark W. Heising, Chair
Managing Director, Medley Partners
Vice Chair, Heising-Simons Foundation

Matt Cohler, Vice Chair
General Partner, Benchmark

Katherine Lorenz, Vice Chair
President, Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation

Peggy M. Shepard, Vice Chair
Co-founder and Executive Director, West Harlem Environmental Action, Inc. (WE ACT for Environmental Justice)


  • G. Leonard Baker, Jr.
    Limited Partner, Sutter Hill Ventures

  • Joshua Bekenstein
    Managing Director, Bain Capital

  • Georges C. Benjamin, MD
    Executive Director, American Public Health Association

  • Michael D. Bills
    Founder and CIO, Bluestem Asset Management

  • Shelby W. Bonnie
    Co-founder, CNET Networks

  • Christopher A. Cole
    Chairman, Ardea Partners, LLC

  • Christopher Costello
    Professor of Natural Resource Economics, Bren School UCSB
    Research Associate, National Bureau of Economic Research

  • Rachel Crane
    Former Space, Science and Innovations Correspondent, CNN

  • Leslie Dach
    Strategic Consultant

  • Ruth DeFries, Ph.D.
    Denning Family Professor of Sustainable Development, Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Environmental Biology, Columbia University

  • Susan Ford Dorsey
    President, Sand Hill Foundation

  • Stanley Druckenmiller

  • Nikki Eslami
    Founder and CEO, New Theory Ventures
    Founder and CEO, Wild Elements

  • Kirsten J. Feldman
    Retired Managing Director, Morgan Stanley
    Chair, Steep Rock Association

  • Carl Ferenbach
    Chairman, High Meadows Foundation

  • Lynn R. Goldman, M.D., M.P.H.
    Dean, George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services

  • Charles J. Hamilton, Jr.
    Senior Counsel, Windels Marx Lane & Mittendorf, LLP

  • Alice Hill
    David M. Rubenstein Senior Fellow for Energy and the Environment, Council on Foreign Relations

  • Coddy Johnson
    Partner, Goodwater Capital

  • The Honorable Thomas H. Kean
    Former Governor of New Jersey
    Chairman, THK Consulting

  • Lisa Keith
    Development Consultant
  • Richard J. Lazarus
    Charles Stebbins Fairchild Professor of Law, Harvard University
  • Abby Leigh
  • Frank Loy
    Former Under Secretary of State for Global Affairs
  • Secretary Ray Mabus
    Former Secretary of the Navy
  • Susan Mandel
    ZOOM Foundation
  • Elizabeth McCance
    Trustee, McCance Family Foundation
  • Marie Lynn Miranda, Ph.D.
    Chancellor and Professor of Pediatrics, University of Illinois Chicago
  • Kathryn Murdoch
    President, Quadrivium Foundation
  • Susan Oberndorf
    President, Susan and William Oberndorf Foundation
  • Kenneth Olden, Ph.D.
    Former Director, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences and the National Toxicology Program/National Institutes of Health
    Former Director of the National Center for Environmental Assessment/U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Stephen W. Pacala, Ph.D.
    Frederick D. Petrie Professor in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Emeritus
    Senior Scholar in the High Meadows Environmental Institute, Princeton University
  • Bruce V. Rauner
    Former Governor, State of Illinois
    Former Chairman, GTCR
  • Spencer Robertson
  • Virginia Sall
    Co-founder, Sall Family Foundation
  • Lise Strickler
    Three Cairns Group
  • Susan Wojcicki
    SVP & Advisor, Google/Alphabet
  • David S. Vogel
    CEO & Chief Scientist, Voloridge Investment Management
  • Ion Yadigaroglu
    Managing Partner, Capricorn Investment Group

Honorary trustees

Gene E. Likens, Ph.D.

N. J. Nicholas, Jr.

George M. Woodwell, Ph.D.*

* Founding trustee